Does updating iphone delete everything
There are a few circumstances in which you should reset all of that data from your i Phone in order to restore the phone to its factory-new condition.These circumstances include when: You can delete your i Phone's data either when your phone is synced or through onscreen commands.Once all of your i Phone's data is deleted, it will restart and you'll have an i Phone with either all new settings or a completely empty memory.Apple’s i OS 8, the latest version of the operating system for i Phone, i Pad, and i Pod, is now available.When you do that, you get rid of all the music, apps, email, and settings from your phone.And unless you backed up your data, you won't get it back.If you're sure you want to go ahead, tap Erase i Phone.How long the deletion process takes depends on what you chose in step 3 (deleting all data and settings takes more time than resetting the dictionary, for instance).
This step is there is to prevent a thief from getting your phone and deleting your data—which would include your phone's connection to Find My i Phone—so they can get away with your device.
But the upgrade is also available for existing Apple devices. While the operating system itself is about a 1-gigabyte download (which is pretty big), your device needs even more breathing room to perform the update.